top of page

The Island Muse


To find calm is to find an island, the highest building, and the deepest well. To be calm is to challenge the world’s chaos with your own fire. Monks become warriors, churches become fortresses, and the human body becomes indestructible. Your heart becomes an atomic bomb; by destroying the banal it leaves behind the landscape of your soul. The peace lies within the rivers of my soul’s valleys, the snow covered mountaintops of my mind. Peace lies in the cold winter of sleep.

When a bird flies, its wings manipulate countless interjecting winds that break against its body. It remains in the air, proud and alive. The bird does not fear height. It is instinctual. Through countless evolutionary cycles the bird has had it feathers sprout outwards into majestic wings. The pelican braces the most colossal of storms, the eagle dives at marvelous speeds towards its prey, and the hummingbird remains so elegantly still while feeding it seems as if god himself were with strings controlling it like a puppet.

The human has evolved to fear nothing. The human being must not fear anything. I must not fear. Fear is holding me back in so many ways. It grasps onto my thoughts and does not let them go. I fear failure and humiliation. I belittle myself so as to not allow my own weight to crush me as I fall. But does failure mean death. Is life a g battle of titans where my failure equates the termination of life? A motivation to move forward is sometimes more important than any sense of direction.

The mind that sticks to indulgence and self-deprecation is festooned by fear. The mind which reaches towards higher winds and higher spirits, both outwards but especially inwards, eventually flies upon the thermals of happiness. The island becomes paradise rather than prison. All it takes is new eyes to dissolve the lie and sail sky-high into the white.

bottom of page